Twelve Toyota and Lexus cars win IIHS awards

Toyota has topped the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety’s (IIHS) annual list of safety awards for the third year in a row.


12 Toyota and Lexus vehicles won IIHS awards 2017, with nine receiving its highest award, the TOP SAFETY PICK+.

According to IIHS, automakers were required to meet tougher criteria to be considered for the top 2017 awards, including headlight evaluations launched in 2016. Among this year’s TOP SAFETY PICK+ recipients, the IIHS recognized the updated Toyota Corolla for improved small overlap crash protection and front crash prevention, as well as the Toyota Prius for its improved headlights.

To receive a TOP SAFETY PICK AWARD, vehicles were required to achieve good ratings in five crashworthiness tests, have an available front crash prevention system and have quality headlights. TOP SAFETY PICK+ award winners must also have a superior- or advanced-rated front crash prevention system with automatic braking capabilities.

2017 Toyota and Lexus TOP SAFETY PICK+ winners:

  • Toyota Prius (built after August 2016),
  • Toyota Corolla
  • Toyota Camry
  • Toyota Prius v
  • Lexus RC
  • Lexus ES 350
  • Toyota RAV4,
  • Lexus NX
  • Lexus RX

2017 Toyota and Lexus TOP SAFETY PICK winners:

  • Toyota Yaris iA
  • Toyota Avalon
  • Lexus CT 200h

Dino Triantafyllos is Toyota’s North American Chief Quality Officer.

Collin Image Team
Collin County news and updates by